17-year-old Niall McLoughlin claims stage three win in Rás Mumhan

Fergus Keogh takes the lead at Gorey Three Day after seeing off breakaway companions

Cycling Ireland junior team rider Niall McLoughlin was quickest at the end of stage three of the Kerry Group Rás Mumhan on Sunday, turning the tables on the rider who beat him one day earlier, Conor Murnane (UCD Cycling Club). The 17 year old showed his class with the victory against older riders, leading home a reduced main bunch into Knocknagree.

Stage one winner and overnight leader Lindsay Watson (Velo Revolution) finished safely in the same 55-rider group, preserving his overall lead. He heads into Monday’s final stage with the same two second advantage over Darragh McCarter (Spellman Dublin Port), with Monte Guerini (Foran Cycling Club) eight second back in third.

In Wexford, Fergus Keogh (Moynalty Cycling Club) took over the lead of the Gorey Three Day after Sunday’s second stage. He beat breakaway companions Loughlin Campion (Leinster Senior Team) and Conor Verbruggen (Bray Wheelers) to the line, with the next chasers 23 seconds back.

Shane Coll (Drogheda Wheelers), who dominated the stage one sprint, finished over three minutes back. Keogh is on the same time as Verbruggen and Campion heading into Monday’s concluding leg.


Gabrielle Glodenyte (Unattached Leinster) is two minutes 14 seconds clear of Linda Kelly (Spin the Bean Power by Coffee) in the women’s competition. Oisin Ferrity (Island Wheelers) is best of the juniors and Ewan Warren (Unattached Munster) tops the senior A3 classification.

In Istanbul, the final stage of the Presidential Tour of Turkey was called off after heavy rainfall rendered the city streets too dangerous for racing to take place.

Stage Three, Knocknagree to Knocknagree: 1 Niall McLoughlin (Cycling Ireland Junior Team) 107 kilometres in 2 hours 30'46", 2 C Murnane (UCD Cycling Club), 3 O Doogan (Velo Revolution), 4 L Rosie (Spokes Racing Team), 5 J Smith (Spokes Racing Team), 6 R Jan Mol (Moynalty Cycling Club), 7 L Doyle (Greenmount Cycling Academy), 8 C Hennebry (Team Dan

Morrissey/Pactimo) all same time

General classification after stage three: 1 Lindsay Watson (Velo Revolution), 2 D McCarter (Spellman Dublin Port) 2", 3 M Guerini (Foran Cycling Club) 8", 4 L Smith (Moynalty Cycling Club) 17", 5 B Fish (TAAP Cervélo),

6 C Hennebry (Team Dan Morrissey/Pactimo), 7 A Maguire (Pinergy Orwell Wheelers), 8 C Halvey (Newcastlewest Cycling Club) all same time

Points classification: 1 Niall McLoughlin (Cycling Ireland Junior Team) 27, 2 C Murnane (UCD Cycling Club) 27, 3 L Watson (Velo Revolution) 19,

4 L Smith (Moynalty Cycling Club) 14, 5 D McCarter (Spellman Dublin Port) 12

Mountains classification: 1 Lindsay Watson (Velo Revolution) 52, 2 D Harvey (Spellman Dublin Port) 50, 3 L Smith (Moynalty Cycling Club) 43,

4 J Smith (Spokes Racing Team) 14, 5 A Maguire (Pinergy Orwell Wheelers) 13

Under 23 classification: 1 Conor Halvey (Newcastlewest Cycling Club) 7 hours 19'35", 2 D Harvey (Spellman Dublin Port), 3 N McLoughlin (Cyclig Ireland Junior Team) 3'53"

Junior classification: 1 Niall McLoughlin (Cycling Ireland Junior Team)

7 hours 23’28”, 2 S Moloney (Munster Cycling - Tarrant Skoda Junior

Team) 2’21”, 3 C McConville (Spokes Racing Junior Team) 7’05”

Gorey Three Day

Stage Two, Gorey to Gorey: 1 Fergus Keogh (Moynalty Cycling Club) 95 kilometres in 2 hours 12'07", 2 L Campion (Leinster Senior Team), 3 C Verbruggen (Bray Wheelers), 4 A Ryan (Leinster Senior Team) 23", 5 M Mizgajski (Spin the Bean Power by Coffee), 6 A Connell (Dungarvan CC) 27", 7 O Ferrity (Island Wheelers), 8 E Warren (Unattached Munster)

General classification: 1 Fergus Keogh (Moynalty Cycling Club) 4 hours 35'36", 2 C Verbruggen (Bray Wheelers), 3 L Campion (Leinster Senior Team), 4 A Ryan (Leinster Senior Team) 23", 5 M Mizgajski (Spin the Bean Power by Coffee), 6 O Ferrity (Island Wheelers) 27", 7 E Warren (Unattached Munster), 8 A Klus (Stamullen RC) both same time

Women: 1 Gabrielle Glodenyte (Unattached Leinster) 4 hours 36'40", 2 L Kelly (Spin the Bean Power by Coffee) 2'14", 3 D Harkness (VC Glendale),

4 A O’Brien (Torelli-Assure-Cayman Islands-Scimitar) 16’58”, 5 J Neenan (Sundrive Track Team) 17’22”

A3 riders: 1 Ewan Warren (Unattached Munster) 4 hours 36'03", 2 E Kelly (UCD Cycling Club) 46", 3 M Kendall (Banbridge CC) 2'51", 4 A Grehan (Lucan Cycling Road Club), 5 J Sheridan (St Tiernans Cycling Club) both same time

Juniors: 1 Oisin Ferrity (Island Wheelers) 4 hours 36'03", 2 D Doherty (VC Glendale), 3 T McNally (Leinster Development Team) 31", 4 T Killeen (Leinster Development Team) 3'06", 5 D O'Neill (Wexford Wheelers) 7'38"