TDs against abortion Bill from across political spectrum

Thirty-one TDs act against the Protection of Life during Pregnancy Bill, three abstain and four absent

Fianna Fáil allowed members a free vote on the legislation, and 14 members voted against:

John Browne (Wexford)

Dara Calleary (Mayo)

Éamon Ó Cuív (Galway West)


Seán Fleming (Laois Offaly)

Seamus Kirk (Louth)

Michael Kitt (Galway East)

Charlie McConalogue (Donegal North East),

Michael McGrath (Cork South Central)

John McGuinness (Carlow-Kilkenny)

Michael Moynihan (Cork North West)

Willie O’Dea (Limerick)

Sean Ó Fearghail (Kildare South)

Brendan Smith (Cavan Monaghan)

Robert Troy (Longford-Westmeath)

Five Fine Gael TDs voted against:

Lucinda Creighton (Dublin South East)

Terence Flanagan (Dublin North East)

Peter Mathews (Dublin South)

Billy Timmins (Wicklow)

Brian Walsh (Galway West)

One Sinn Féin member voted against:

Peadar Tóibín (Meath West)

Eleven Independents voted in opposition:

Richard Boyd Barrett (Dún Laoghaire)

Joan Collins (Dublin South Central)

Clare Daly (Dublin North)

Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (Roscommon-South Leitrim)

Michael Healy-Rae (Kerry South)

Joe Higgins (Dublin West)

Colm Keaveney (Galway East)

Michael Lowry (Tipperary North)

Mattie McGrath (Tipperary South)

Denis Naughten (Roscommon-South Leitrim)

Mick Wallace (Wexford)

Labour's Róisín Shortall and Tommy Broughan and Independent Tom Fleming abstained. Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore (Labour) is in the US. Fine Gael's Nicky McFadden and Independents Noel Grealish and Maureen O'Sullivan were, meanwhile absent from the Dáil for the vote.