Railway Union win Champions Trophy with last-minute penalty

Róisín Upton strike seals victory over defending champions Loreto

Railway Union won their first ever Champions Trophy in the most dramatic of circumstances in Banbridge on Sunday, Róisín Upton converting a penalty stroke in the final second of the game to give them a 1-0 victory over defending champions Loreto.

The stroke was awarded after Niamh Carey was upended by Loreto goalkeeper Liz Murphy, Upton keeping her cool to slot the ball in to the bottom left corner of the net.

It was exceptionally tough on Murphy who had been outstanding, making a string of saves throughout, including a brilliant diving one from Upton five minutes from time.

Loreto, who crushed UCD 7-1 in Saturday’s semi-finals, had started the game the stronger but could find no way past a Railway defence that had also kept Catholic Institute scoreless in their semi-final win. Railway gradually took control, though, and but for Murphy might well have had a more comfortable win.


Champions Trophy (at Banbridge) - Semi-finals: Loreto 7 (H McLoughlin 2, Y Pratt 2, R Kelly 2, M Jennings), UCD 1 (M Power); Railway Union 1 (A Bourke), Catholic Institute 0. Final: Loreto 0, Railway Union 1 (R Upton pen).

Mary Hannigan

Mary Hannigan

Mary Hannigan is a sports writer with The Irish Times